The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Dude knows what he wants!

batman

Kudos to this guy for knowing what he wants!

Me? I’m nowhere near so certain.  I love the job I have – the team I work with, the staff I manage, the work I do, my boss even!  I enjoy the freedom and flexibility it gives me – I come in late every Monday & Friday so that I can do school drop offs, I don’t have to panic about taking time off for my family if I need it.  So, the work/life balance is pretty good – I don’t feel like either family or work are missing out (well, you know, no more than the usual guilts, anyway).

But then, on the weekend, I received an email job alert for another position at my university.  A level higher, with a different unit: an Executive Officer role.  I certainly wouldn’t be a shoe-in for the role, but I do think that my skills and experience would make me competitive, and well, I am ambitious.  Yes, I think that I can say that out loud: I am ambitious and I am good at what I do.

But the question remains as to whether this is the right time to make a move.  Family life is settled, I have a social life, I have me-time.  And I have these things because I have reached the point in my current role where I can put that focus on myself at the same time as knowing that I am doing a good job at work.

And.. we’re thinking about moving house later in the year.. and.. my youngest will be starting school next year.. and..and.. and.. Let’s face it, I’m scared of failure – not that I will fail to get the job, but that I will fail within it.  That I will have given up something great for something not-so-great.

24 comments on “Dude knows what he wants!

  1. Becci Birdy Num Num
    June 26, 2013

    It’s a pity we don’t have a crystal ball, isn’t it? I think the timing is right for me but shouldn’t count my chickens, the interview isn’t until tomorrow!

  2. Change is always hard when you’re comfortable. I’m useless at making decisions! 🙂

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      That is so true. I am making progress with the decision making process. I am also more willing to take a chance, but the right sort if chance, and this one didn’t turn out to be the right opportunity for me to jump into.

  3. Lydia C. Lee
    August 22, 2013

    did you get it??? Love the “Yes, I think that I can say that out loud: I am ambitious and I am good at what I do.” We need more of that.

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      It is a bit scary, but empowering, to say it out loud. It also helps consolidate in my mind that it is TRUE!
      The job wasn’t the right direction for me, so I didn’t go for it. I keep my eyes open, but for now plenty of challenges in my current role, and time to find the next step that will be right for me…

  4. mummywifeme
    August 22, 2013

    Love the title of this post! Did you end up getting the job?

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      No, I looked into the job further, spoke with people about it and came to the decision that it wouldn’t be taking me in the right direction. It was actually really satisfying to make an active decision based on research and proper consideration!

  5. robomum
    August 22, 2013

    I love that pic! I wish I could be Batman as well. Or Wonder Woman.
    Your blog rocks. So glad I found it through The Lounge. Thanks for linking X

  6. Isn’t it fun y how we always have a million and one reasons for not doing something, even if its something we really want. I hope you figured out the right answer

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      I stayed where I am, but I am happy that it was the right decision – I looked further into the role and it wasn’t really “me”. I think of that as a Win – I thought about what was important and made an active rather than passive decision.

  7. Tegan
    August 22, 2013

    This is why being an adult sucks balls. So many *real life* things to consider instead of just thinking fuck it let’s go. I hope that wherever you are now that you are happy.

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      Indeed I am happy Tegan! Thank you x

  8. Ness
    August 22, 2013

    I hope you made the right decision and it worked out. I’ve never been very ambitious so I sometimes wonder what I’ve missed out on…

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      I’m ambitious in fits and starts. Sometimes I just want to be at home looking after my family. I don’t think I’ll ever be 100% happy with either decision!

  9. This Charming Mum
    August 22, 2013

    I love that image and everything it says about setting goals for yourself and knowing what you really want out of life! I’m happily working from home at the moment, so I could wear the Batman suit if I wanted to, but I tend to opt for trackies 🙂

    • Katyberry
      August 22, 2013

      I know, that cartoon just makes me smile EVERY time I see it. I mean Come On! Dude wants to be Batman! Freaking awesome!

  10. Keeping Up With The Holsbys
    August 22, 2013

    I had to quickly read through all the comments, praying that someone asked the question burning on my lips. So you didn’t do it, but you’re happy about it. I love that you even considered it. That’s enough for now. You know if and when you’re ready for more.

  11. Raising Explorers
    August 22, 2013

    I’m with you on the indecisiveness about career. There’s a job advertised NOW that I’d love to get in eighteen months or so when the kids go to school… To take the plunge or not? Arrrggghhhhh!!!

    • Katyberry
      August 23, 2013

      I definitely recommend calling up the job and asking a bit more about it so you can start to determine if it is ‘perfect’ enough to warrant moving your timeframe forward…. Good luck

  12. Kirsty @ My Home Truths
    August 22, 2013

    I so get this. I am ambitious too but I have finally (after years of internal struggle) got to the point where I know I have to put my natural ambitions to the side and just work at being good at my current level. I’m lucky that I have a good work life balance too and that I am respected in my position and enjoy the work I do. It also helps that the next level represents way more responsibility, work and time than I’m able and willing to commit to right now…that certainly dampens down my enthusiasm when positions are advertised in my organisation!

    • Katyberry
      August 23, 2013

      Yep, when you’ve achieved a good level of work-life balance, sometimes that is the most important thing. I’m hovering around that point at the moment….. But I’d always love more money, but same again for family time….

  13. alexbfinlayson
    August 23, 2013

    I was asked by my boss to go for a promotion. It was a substantial pay increase but I turned it down because the work-load was ridiculous. Everyone who I asked said they hated the position because it took them away from their family. That was a no-brainer for me. Like you, I think I’ve got the balance just right.

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2013 by in Personal Development and tagged , , , .

Navigation

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
