The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Where is my bloody pen?

boots desk

Today I am joining in with The Lounge, hosted this week by Musings of the Misguided and the question posed is “What did you think you would be better at by now?”

At this stage of my life and my career I should be better at keeping my desk under control.  I should be neat.  I should have a system.  I should know where that contract is and I should be able to find my pen.  I shouldn’t have stray forks and teaspoons sitting next to my PC.

Let’s look at the ways in which I am failing:

I cleared out my in-tray earlier in the year and found paperwork from 18 months ago buried in it.  I don’t really use my in-tray as an in-tray, so much as I use it as a holding pen.  The upside to this is that clearly that work from 18 months ago wasn’t really that important so I could safely throw it in the bin.  It’s a sort of efficiency if you think about it in that particular way.

My Kris Kringle gift was a set of forks.  Because the collection on my desk really belongs to the staff kitchen and needed to be given back.  I have made leaps and bounds on that front, and currently there is only one fork on my desk.  That I am going to take to the kitchen RIGHT NOW.

OK I’m back.  Continuing.

Once when I did an office cleanup a colleague asked if I was leaving the organisation.  Because clearly the only way my office could be tidy is if I was preparing for departure.

I found a very important parcel on my desk about a week after it was delivered.  And after I had complained about not receiving it in a timely manner.

But this is all sounding very negative.  On the plus side, I am very organised electronically – and I make sure that my team understand that it is all about The Email.  I have an email system so that email tasks/requests/action/information don’t get lost or overlooked, and when finished with, they are appropriately filed for future reference.  I have a background in Document Management Systems – this much I can do.

I also surround myself with enough neat and tidy people to keep the general office environment under control.  So when I look around, I don’t think “shitfight”.

And on top of all that, I make sure that my desk, whilst in a communal office, is out of the line of general sight.  No need to share my dirty little secret, right?

16 comments on “Where is my bloody pen?

  1. Tegan
    May 2, 2013

    I just lost a spoon between my yogurt and my mouth…seriously. So I feel your pain on not feeling organised and not being able to find anything. Pens have a mind of their own I think..they are the hairbands of the stationary world.
    Thanks for linking up with The Lounge.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 2, 2013

      Oh Hairbands! Our school just decided that hairbands have to be maroon. Don’t they realise that I’m lucky to find any hairbands in the morning, let alone a specific colour!

  2. Ness
    May 2, 2013

    According to what my husband tells me of when he worked in an office, the people with the spotless desks were usually passing the buck and getting everyone to do their dirty work because they couldn’t stand having anything waiting on their desk. At least you’re working, even if it takes you longer to find a pen.

  3. Slapdash Mama
    May 2, 2013

    Hello! Are you me??? Hahahaha! Actually you know what, my work desk is actually organised! I know. Weird. My bedroom and kitchen bench however. That is another story! The horror. Thank you for linking up today, love it love it!!!

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 2, 2013

      Linking up was a great fun way to start off my blogging! Thanks for taking the time to visit

  4. robomum
    May 2, 2013

    I’m a neat desk person… I can’t work unless it’s neat. I work with someone, who lives in another staff room and her desk is SO messy it’s actually a hazard. It is a sight to behold.
    Thanks for linking up with us here in The Lounge! Keep on blogging! X

  5. Rachel
    May 2, 2013

    I think we may have the same desk in parallel universes.

    In-tray used to hold work that you wish would disappear? Check!

    Cutlery hording? Check! Although I don’t do forks – I have a yogurt every morning for brekky at my desk plus several cups of tea through the day so instead my hording item of choice is teaspoons.

    Great post and a very interesting blog (I sneaked a look at your other posts ’cause I’m creepy like that;) ). Looking forward to seeing you in The Lounge again soon. Rach – The Very Inappropriate Blog

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 2, 2013

      Thanks. I ‘hope’ it’s the start of an interesting blog! So much to learn from the blogging community

  6. This Charming Mum
    May 2, 2013

    I’m impressed you got a set of forks as a Kris Kringle gift! How very practical and better than the cheap soap packs and bottle stoppers (have they never heard of screw tops??) I’ve received over recent years. The best thing about a messy desk though is organising the desk! I have an unnatural love of stationery, especially filing/binding/novelty-pen-holder types of things.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 2, 2013

      The Kris Kringle WAS funny! Although only the girls in my immediate office got the joke!
      I love pretty stationery and organizing too, but I can just never stay neat and organised so I end up with really pretty matching things lost under the rubble!

  7. Kim
    May 2, 2013

    Paper, hey? Luddites. They clearly don’t know or understand you AT ALL. This sounds a lot like my desk too, except one whole office drawer used to be called ‘pantry’. Yes – I had friends. You may not get friends with salad, but you will with 6- month old chocolate.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 2, 2013

      Doesn’t matter how old the chocolate is! I once had a colleague who had a similar pantry drawer – it had lollies, choc, biscuits, packet soup, tins, everything you could imagine. And she would share it with whoever got the munchies!

  8. Jenster
    May 5, 2013

    I can completely relate. Although you didn’t seem to have old mouldy food left in a bag under your desk. My colleagues couldn’t work out the smell. One look in the bag and there was a very old apple there. I lost an invoice the other day. I did see it. Once. Can’t find it now. Mmmm…nevermind. At least the quality of my work is better than the state of my desk.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 5, 2013

      Definitely – it’s about the quality of the work.
      Although a moldy apple is pretty gross, I am not going to judge because I am sure there is a similar example lurking in my backstory

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Personal Development and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
