The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Holidays

875599-stakerI am lucky. My family is lucky. This weekend just past we took a short break to Melbourne. Yes, it pales in comparison to other families we know who are travelling overseas, or who seemingly take holidays every other week, but for us, it was fabulous. It was a weekend of wandering the city, going to the footy, catching trams, visiting the National Gallery, and pigging out on pasta and baklava. We were happy, individually and together as a family.

Of course, for the most part, we are a happy family. But there is no doubt that my husband and I work hard, and with three young daughters we have made choices that have sacrificed our family time in order to keep my career on track and to keep $ coming in.  Often I get caught up in the daily ups and downs, ins and outs of life, and forget that we should be making the most of what our choices have afforded us.

No, we aren’t going on a 6 week European vacation any time soon, our house isn’t palatial, and Dammit, why don’t i have a cleaner? but we can afford to take a short break with our girls and go out for dinners and coffees and cakes, and get good tickets to watch the Lions beat the Bombers (seriously, didn’t see that one coming) without panicking that we can’t foot the bill.

This weekend I remembered that there is no point working at the expense of our home life if we then don’t use the rewards of that work to give back to our family – to create adventures and experiences to enjoy and cherish. To smile and laugh with each other as if there were no cares in the world.

Today’s linkup with The Lounge is being hosted by Rachel at The Very Inappropriate Blog

And also linking up with Talk To Us Thursday at Blogs and PR

22 comments on “Holidays

  1. Tegan
    May 22, 2013

    Sounds like the perfect kind of holiday. Not having to worry about a thing for an entire weekend.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 22, 2013

      Man! You are onto your links QUICK!

      It really was a great break. The cakes, Oh My God, the cakes. I love Melbourne

  2. Cooker and a Looker
    May 23, 2013

    I love Melbourne too. Travelling with the girls can be taxing, but in between refereeing sultana-related arguements, I like to think we’re making fond childhood memories!

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 23, 2013

      Oh, yes! There were still plenty of arguments, and would you believe the nasty parents that we are, we did make them WALK around Melbourne, which was apparently quite traumatising for them! But yes, it’s all about the memories, and I am sure that we created some beautiful ones.

  3. HomeleaLass
    May 23, 2013

    It’s always good to get away, and a trip to Melbourne is always fun.

  4. Sarah @ SlapdashMama
    May 23, 2013

    Yes! I feel like we are a bit on the treadmill at the moment, all work and almost no play, just going to work, paying bills, never having a holiday. I DO HAVE A CLEANER THOUGH! Maybe I should sacrifice her? UM…NO WAY!
    Just need to prioritise a holiday. NOW!

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 23, 2013

      Sometimes the problem is giving yourself enough time to organise the holiday. Many times we have had ideas that never quite turn into plans, and before you know it, it SHOULD be holiday time, but no, we are still at home bickering about who was supposed to have organised what!

      And PS sacrifice your cleaner TO ME.

  5. Nikki Morgan
    May 23, 2013

    Love my home town, always enjoy going back for a few days, even though you would find me at a Hawthorn match instead and chomping on a pineapple doughnut, I really do miss those, you would think in the Sunshine State pineapply doughnuts would be plentiful, but oh no, i have to go to Melbourne for those! Nikki @ Wonderfully Women

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 23, 2013

      You’ve got to have the Pineapple fritters up here instead. Mmm cinnamon sugary fried goodness!

  6. Lydia C. lee
    May 23, 2013

    I’m a bomber. I have nothing to say. I love going to Melbourne. Best weekend getaway there is. Infact, other than at the MCG, can you have a bad time in Melbourne? I don’t think it can be done…

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 23, 2013

      The game was so great – obviously we are really happy with the result, but it was an exciting one to watch. We had told our girls that No, the Lions weren’t going to win, and even during the game I kept their hopes in check with comments along the lines of Well, there’s still a long time to play.

      And blow me down, we did it! We were so so excited!!!

      It was great for the girls to go and see such a big crowd. Love the footy!

  7. Lydia C. lee
    May 23, 2013

    That’s Bomber of the red & black variety, not terrorist. Incase I wasn’t clear.

  8. robomum
    May 23, 2013

    Although I’m not a huge fan of Melbourne, I like this idea. Most of my fancy living was done pre-kids and pre-mortgage. We have personal pursuits, but most of our family fun is done with the budget in mind. Great post!

  9. MrsD
    May 23, 2013

    Sounds like the perfect kind of holiday break to me. If everyone is happy then it really doesn’t matter where you go. I don’t have a cleaner or anywhere near going on a 6 week overseas trip – but hey, I’m sure its over rated anyway – lol!! xxxxx #TUSK

  10. No cleaner here, and not many getaways either! A holiday and the footy in melbourne sound great though 🙂 We are off to Adelaide(only 450 ks away) in a couple of weeks.

  11. Have a laugh on me
    May 24, 2013

    Katrina – those are wise words. I have just lost my biggest writing contract and now we’re going to have to tighten up a bit, less trips with the kids and I’m a little sad about that. Glad you are able to get out and about a bit! Emily – visiting via TUST!

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 24, 2013

      It’s about making something special out of what you can afford. Luckily, for children it’s usually about creating silly little moments that they treasure, rather than the big fancy things that we, as adults, think make an impact. The benefit of a holiday is that you actually DO the fun things that you normally don’t find the time for.

  12. Yay to the little holiday!!! I have only been to melbourne airport .. but oneday wish to explore the city!! 🙂

    #tust visiting!

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 25, 2013

      Oh I hope you do! It’s a lovely city to wander around, and I absolutely have to rave to you about the Art Gallery – it was one if the highlights. Even the girls enjoyed it ( I can now claim that we are a CULTURED family!)

  13. Rachel
    May 24, 2013

    I would love to do Melbourne with my lot. Brook (my partner) is a chef and many of his “bucket list” restarants are there. We’re a rugby union family and we’re going to see the Reds soon as a family for the first time soon.

    You sound very much like us (except I’ve got 3 boys to your girls!) – two fulltime working parents means yu’ve really got to work at creating family time. It’s hard to fit everything in sometimes.

    • katrinalovesjustin
      May 25, 2013

      We went to the footy with the girls for the first time last year and I was quite apprehensive about how it would go, but they had a ball, even the youngest (3 at the time), and again this time it was fabulous. So I hope you and the boys enjoy your football – I’m sure you will.
      It is hard to fit in dedicated family time – sometimes you need to go away so that there is no point worrying about the things that need doing around the house etc etc.
      I am determined that we will fit in some more small breaks.
      I hope you get away sometime soon too (the killer with a family of 5 is the airfares and needing a big big hotel room or two – all the bargain deals are designed for families of 4!)

  14. Pingback: Top 5 Professional Influences | The (Mildly) Opinionated Manager

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2013 by in Work/Life Balance and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
