The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Play Nicely

Cranky Pants

Do you ever feel like “Damn People.  Stop being first class freakheads”?

Or is that just me?

In my world, people would get along with others and play nicely, and if people didn’t like each other, then they would just suck it up and act nice anyway and just limit the time and involvement in each other’s space, or if that doesn’t work they would be all adult about it and have a Real Life Conversation and come to an agreement about how they will treat each other with Respect because that’s all anyone really wants.

They wouldn’t be all about the passive aggressive put-downs, or have brain explosions where they shout and swear at people, or make constant undermining, mean and snippy remarks, or bitching to anyone that can’t escape from them.  And they certainly wouldn’t come running to me about every perceived  slight because BY GOD sometimes I really don’t give a Fuck.

And by the way Stupid People, you are not right, and the other person is not wrong, it is actually that you are both behaving like children, and I get enough of that shit at home.

I confess: sometimes I don’t like being the Manager.

 

Today I am rather hurriedly linking up with IBOT at Essentially Jess and I Must Confess at My Home Truths.

P.S. I’m not always this cranky.  Sometimes I’m even FUN.

16 comments on “Play Nicely

  1. redlandcitygirl
    June 11, 2013

    I wish I’d had a manager like you in my last workplace!!!!

    • Katyberry
      June 13, 2013

      Hells Yeah, you wish you did! You’ll have to see my post tomorrow to see the good stuff you’ve been missing out on!

  2. Jacana
    June 11, 2013

    Sometimes I think people are so involved in their own purpose they forget others may have an opinion as well.

    • Katyberry
      June 13, 2013

      That is so true. I’m pretty sure that 99% of people don’t set out to be jerks, it just turns out that way sometimes. I’m just as guilty of it too! Thanks for listening to my little rant!

  3. Neen
    June 11, 2013

    ahhhhhhh yep!
    (but I have once been a first class freakhead lol – at least I know it – but generally live by the above philosophy)

    • Katyberry
      June 13, 2013

      Same. I think most of us can reflect back and go, Ummm that was pretty uncool of me. It’s the people that can’t see that at all (not currently in my team BTW) that are really hard to deal with. Those few people whose life view is so black and white that there is no room for other people’s opinion if they disagree. I could definitely do without those people in my world!
      PS it is a kind of cute design isn’t it? It feels really peaceful to me. Although there are a couple of things that already it doesn’t do that makes me wonder if it will last the distance.

  4. Neen
    June 11, 2013

    PS I really like your blog design! 🙂

  5. Have a laugh on me
    June 11, 2013

    I think cranky is just fine, it’s a release! Before I had kids I was in charge of a publication, a dozen staff and I was ALWAYS cranky! I hope the rest of your week is happier!

    • Katyberry
      June 13, 2013

      Ha! These days I am usually really positive and happy at work, and super-cranky at home, but it is good to switch it up a bit and keep everyone on their toes. My girls are all like, Gosh you’re so NICE today mum!

  6. Kirsty @ My Home Truths
    June 11, 2013

    I’m so with you on this one. Being a manager in my real world job can sometimes drive me completely nuts…. But I’m lucky I have good people in my team, it’s often everyone else who acts like children around us. Love this post and I’m certain that you would be loads of fun on your non-cranky days!!!

    • Katyberry
      June 13, 2013

      Thanks Kirsty. I AM quite fun usually – check out tomorrow’s post – but luckily for my team I very rarely take it out on them when I am cranky. Even if they deserve it sometimes.

  7. becc03
    June 12, 2013

    Haha, I hear you sister!
    It is human nature to maybe get the shits, have a dummy spit and be in a bad mood for a while. But does it have to go on and on, involving everyone and their dog?
    You do hope if these people do have kids, that they are teaching them a lot better than they are acting.
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  8. iSophie
    June 12, 2013

    It must be pretty hard to bite your tongue sometimes I bet! Stupidity drives me insane too! #teamIBOT

  9. EssentiallyJess
    June 12, 2013

    Yeah so glad I don’t have your job! People can be so annoying

  10. Rachel
    June 13, 2013

    Reading the first few paragraphs my first thought was “Jesus you don’t need to go to WORK to get all this bickering and fighting about stupid shit. You can just stay HOME if you want that shit!”. Seriously people like this need to grow he fuck up and be grateful that they HAVE a job to bitch about!

  11. Pingback: Icecream days | The (Mildly) Opinionated Manager

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in Leadership & Management and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
