The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Icecream days

Icecream DaysI’ve been kind of serious around these parts this week, having a bitch and a moan, and taking a long hard look at some of my management practices, so I’m definitely due for a post on the lighter side of life.

Can I just say, the reason that I do take a serious look at what’s going on in my team, and particularly when I can see things going wrong, is because I truly care about the people in my team – I want them to enjoy their work, our team, and be happy – and it frustrates and saddens me when I can’t see how to fix things when they go askew.  I appreciate and LIKE every single member of my team, and I want the best for them, for them to be the best professionals and people that they can be.

So anyway, a nice story.

Over the quiet Summer days at work, I was brainstorming with the gang about some “fun stuff” that we could do together – a social side to our team.  There were lots of ideas, and the one that I added was something that I have held close as an idea for a very long time now.  So long, that I’m not really sure where I got the idea.  It has always been my Dream to have an icecream sundae day at work.  I made a bit of a joke about how that would have to be the best work day ever if it happened.

And then, a couple of months ago, my team organised it.  Especially for me.

The whole office was invited, and we all put in $5 and one morning went out and bought tubs of ice-cream, topping, nuts, chocolate, oreos… Everything you could need, including special icecream sundae bowls.  It was SO MUCH FUN.  I had about 3 bowls.  It might even have been 4 – you don’t count on a day like that.

And that is just one tiny little example of why it is my job, my duty, to give back to my team and to look out for them to the absolute best of my ability.

A big thank you to my team for giving me the Best Work Day Ever.

6 comments on “Icecream days

  1. Me
    June 14, 2013

    What an excellent idea !!!!!! I think doing fun things like that at work certainly help to build a great team.
    Have a great weekend !
    Me

  2. Francesca WritesHere
    June 14, 2013

    That’s a brilliant idea – your team are lucky to have a manager like you 🙂
    Thanks so much for linking up.

  3. Prue Gilfillan
    June 14, 2013

    My company it tightening its belt in a lot of ways and of course one of the first things to do was team lunches. My team have taken it upon themselves to set up a monthly lunch where we all bring a plate and it’s a different cuisine each month. We have it in the lunch room and people from other teams come it and say “Who organised all this?’ and “No one ever organises anything like this for our team”. They’re shocked that it we plan and cook it all ourselves.

    Even though we’ve done it on our own the benefit to morale and team bonding is obvious.

    Everyone loves a big bonus at the end of the year but as far as feeling valued and respected at work on an everyday basis, something as small as Ice Cream Day can be the very thing people need.

    Great post! I cam across from FYBF 🙂

  4. Tegan
    June 14, 2013

    What an awesome idea!

  5. Mystery Case
    June 20, 2013

    Consider yourself CASED!!

    What a seriously gorgeous blog you have here. Thanks so much for linking up with the Ms Mystery Case Sharing is Caring Sunday. We are looking forward to adding you to our ‘worth casing’ list!

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      Thanks so much for popping over! I look forward to linking up with you some more

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2013 by in Leadership & Management and tagged , , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
