The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

School Holidays are Coming

school holsEek!  Somewhere in the dim dark recesses of my mind I must have known that school holidays were just around the corner.  All the signs were there: no homework for the past couple of weeks, watching movies in class, notes about FINAL tuckshop for the term.

But I blame Afterschool Care.  They didn’t send out their Vacation Care program, so in my head, therefore, holidays weren’t happening.  Not yet.  I mean, I know I’m not organised, but that Afterschool Care, now they MUST be organised, right?

Apparently not.  Stupid bloody people.  Turns out holidays are next week.  I managed to cobble together a bit of hodge podge plan: some days with Grandma, some days with Grandpa, and a few days that my husband and I will take off work.  Not to mention a few Vacation Care days (the program was released today GRRR).  This is pretty much the same half-arsed plan we come up with every school holidays, unless we have an actual Go Somewhere Holiday planned (which isn’t often).  It’s kind of a new thing for us to work out some days where my husband and I take off the SAME day so that we can do something As A Family.  We’re kind of slow learners.

Around this time each term, whenever I get together with other school mums (again, not often) they are always talking about taking time off work for holidays. Now, I’m no mathematician, but I don’t know how they do it.  I work full-time and so I accrue something like 20 days of recreation leave a year.  Take away at least 5 – 7 days throughout the year for odd occasions like School Assemblies, Excursions, Music Concerts, or, ahem! going shopping without kids, and that leaves say 15 days of leave to cover a gazillion days of school holidays.

Over Christmas holidays, I stretch the friendship with work by bringing the girls in to work with me (one at a time, when the other is off with a friend) and so does Justin.  So there’s an extra 4 days of holidays taken care of.

My work, at a university, is very family friendly, and offers a Reduced Working Year Scheme, where you can take extra leave in your year, and just take a reduced rate of pay.  Essentially the same as Leave Without Pay, but stretched out over the year so that you can keep to a budget or whatever.  It’s a pretty good scheme, and I took advantage of it a teensy bit last year, and I think that I might take it up a bit more this year.  Spending a bit more time with the girls in a CHUNK over holidays sounds pretty appealing.

Until they start yelling at each other, I guess.  Then I’d rather be at work where I can surf the web in peace.

If you’re a working mum, can I ask you your secrets?  How on earth do you cover school holidays?  And does anyone else totally choose to skip Music Concerts? (Have you ever heard really bad violin?  I. Just.Can’t)

Linking up with IBOT at Essentially Jess

13 comments on “School Holidays are Coming

  1. Trish MLDB
    June 18, 2013

    I remember trying to organise care for my older son in the holidays. I’m not working out of the home at the moment so I only have to worry about keeping my monsters from getting into mischief and fighting with each other during the holidays.

    • Katyberry
      June 18, 2013

      And that in itself is quite the mission!

  2. Linda (Me)
    June 18, 2013

    PCYC used to be our life saver as we both worked and battled to get enough leave to cover school holidays – it used to be a nightmare and I dreaded them every single year !! The long Christmas holidays were the worst.
    Have a great day and good luck with organising your vacation care !
    Me

  3. themisscinders
    June 18, 2013

    I think working mums are champions 🙂 I have no idea how I am going to be able to work with kids – even though they are all at school. My days are so busy already, work scares the pants off me. Simply because I know I will burn out after not too long.

    I’d just like the secret to juggling work and kids in general!

    MC x
    #teamIBOT

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      Ha! There’s no secret, just unending chaos!
      No, not really – actually plenty of routine, and changing the rules when we find something that works for us. A fair bit of yelling and an absolutely abominable state of cleanliness around the house are also givens.

  4. Grace
    June 18, 2013

    We’re not quite at the stage of worrying about school holidays yet but goodness knows what we’ll do! The plan is for me to go back to work by the time the twinlets start school but we tend to have the school holidays slip us by, don’t we?
    Good thing your work is so family friendly!

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      There’s always a way! But if you’re unorganized like me, it adds on some last minute pressure.

  5. Timely post. Hubby sent me an email today about Christmas holidays…

    We’re lucky because we have parents to help if we’re stuck and I only work part time. But even so, it’s a stretch. Even if Hubby and I took all our leave at different times, there’d be 4 weeks unaccounted for. So, we juggle…

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      Juggling is the way it goes, isn’t it?
      And if you drop a ball you just have to calmly pick it up and keep going again.

  6. Judy Thornton
    June 19, 2013

    Yes, I just realised yesterday that this was Emma’s last week for the term!
    A little shocked I must say! I thought they had next week still.

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      One day, presumably by Year 12, we’ll be on top of it!

  7. EssentiallyJess
    June 19, 2013

    I work but only in the evenings when Boatman is home so that’s how we get around it. I personally can’t wait for holidays to start next week, so I don’t have to rush the kids around constantly in the morning! Hope you find something that works for you. xx

    • Katyberry
      June 21, 2013

      Thanks for popping by, and hosting the linkup. It is such a great way to be read, and to discover new bloggers I haven’t come across before.
      We will bumble through holidays as per usual. I am keen for kids to get some Sleep ins, because I can tell just how tired they are by end of term.

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2013 by in Work/Life Balance and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
