The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Dreaming a Pozible Dream

One of the great things about my new venture into blogging, twitter and the like is the amazing and interesting new people that I have met.

Last week I had an amazing response to a post I wrote seeking some advice for a newbie blogger, and I am doing a lot of thinking and planning around where I want my blog to go, and what I am looking to achieve, as a result.  Rest assured peeps, world domination isn’t in my plans!  I want my blog to be a place where I can reflect on the things going on around me in my career and work/life balance pursuits, a venue for asking questions and LEARNING from other people, and an opportunity to learn-through-practice about effective social media communication.  Changes are afoot, but will probably move slowly forward…

I feel so encouraged and supported by this new community that I want to share that feeling with some other new friends that are on my radar.

Top of this list is Eve MacFarlane, who is daring to dream big and is seeking funding for her business idea “Wooden Bet On It”, which is creating business-card sized wooden good luck charms.  These wooden cards can be individually personalised by laser cutting beautiful designs, words and images into them.  I’ve been stalking Eve’s blog for a while now, and I love this idea and the cards that I have seen so far.  I have put my money where my mouth is and made a pledge via Pozible that will help Eve to buy the laser she needs to move from creating prototypes through to commercial production.

Wooden Bet On It Cards

Whilst I am looking forward to owning one of these cards myself (I love beautiful design, and who doesn’t need a bit of luck in their life?!), it is the way in which Eve has taken an idea, tested it, put a framework around it, and is now chasing down the means to make it a business reality that has caught my attention.  To start with, I’m not really a great ideas person.  I would describe myself more as an Ideas Supporter.  Which is important – I can and do help facilitate the success of the ideas of those around me by providing resources, robust discussion & analysis, and morale support, but seriously, don’t look to me for an actual idea!  Secondly, I’m a nervous nelly when it comes to taking personal chances and facing (OMG!) risk.  But here’s Eve, who throughout her career has figured out what she wants and Gone For It!  From IT Trainer to Flight Attendant to Pilot to Entrepreneur, Eve has really grabbed the bull by the horns.

I’m hoping that Eve, sometime in the near future, will write a bit more for me about her experiences, but for the time being, what I mostly hope for is her success in reaching her Pozible target of $5000.  She only has 5 days left to fundraise the full amount, so if you’re interested in skipping a coffee or two, and instead donating towards another person’s dream, Please Do It!

Do I need to state for the record that this isn’t a sponsored post?  God, like anyone is sponsoring my little blog!  No, this is just me trying to pay it forward.  Cheers y’all!

Linking up with Essentially Jess at IBOT.

11 comments on “Dreaming a Pozible Dream

  1. mandyferry
    July 2, 2013

    Look at you, such a kind hearted person.

    • Eve MacFarlane
      July 2, 2013

      I agree mandyferry! this kind of “pass it forward” is how I live my life too, so its amazing how it can go around!
      Eve

    • Katyberry
      July 4, 2013

      Ha! This kind of outreach and support seems to be such a benefit to the social media community. It is inspiring me to be kind-hearted instead of selfish

  2. Eve MacFarlane
    July 2, 2013

    I’m still sitting here stunned by such a lovely write-up about ME!

    This journey I have undertaken is not for the faint of heart that’s for sure, putting yourself on the line every day “asking” for support ie money, is one thing I have never been very good at, I am a rather the suffer in silence type, so to go out of my comfort zone to ask for financial support is a massive undertaking. I may be very good at living life to the fullest, and experiencing amazing things, but it’s another matter when it comes to financial matters! haha

    Thank you again Katrina, for this, it is a journey of both complete aloneness, but also one filled with support from the most unusual places! In the immortal words of one of my heroes
    “Live Long and Prosper!”

    • Katyberry
      July 4, 2013

      Hi Eve. It’s really not that like me to do something like this. Not that I’m not a nice person (of course I am), but I just wanted to do something and at the same time explore the power of this blogging and social media thing.
      I really wish that it could have made more difference to your pozible target, but at the end of the day I am such small fry.
      I am sure that you will find a way to move forward with this project, even if it takes a bit longer.
      And I mean it that I would love to have you write a bit about yourself and your journey on my blog. Don’t worry, I’ll chase you down!

  3. What beautiful cards. I bet they look even lovelier in real life.

    • Eve MacFarlane
      July 2, 2013

      Hi Renee,

      Thank you so much for the positive comment!

      Here is a FB link to an image I took tonight of a prototype Wooden Bet On It card, I think it goes someway towards showing just how beautiful they are!

      Hope you like it!

      Thanks again!
      Eve

  4. I love the go-getters of life. I am indeed an ideas person- my downfall is the logistics of following through. Yet to do so to date! I wish Eve good luck and great of you to champion her. #teamIBOT

    • Katyberry
      July 4, 2013

      I think the trick is to surround yourself with the right type of people! Works for me!

  5. Good luck on your blogging journey. The blogosphere is a genuine and amazing community. It’s great to know that you can ask for help and receive it in spades – I can’t imagine being anywhere else!

    • Katyberry
      July 4, 2013

      It really is so generous – with time and thoughts and help.

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
