The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Moving on up

m-people-moving-on-up_1

Normally I would try to be super-efficient and flog the one post across several link-ups, but as The Lounge‘s topic was Failure, and my post is kind of depressing, I thought that it might be pushing the friendship, just a titch, to include it at Thankful Thursday.

So quick and dirty.  After working with the fabulous Steph for three years, and seeing her grow and develop from a fresh faced Gen Y uni graduate into a fully-fledged Events/Communications/Marketing SUPERSTAR, Steph is flying the coop and has taken on a role with the Royal Flying Doctor Service.  I’ve known for quite some time that Steph was ready for the next challenge, and it was all that I could do to make her promise not to leave us for anything less than wonderful.

And her new role is wonderful, and Steph is so happy, and I am so happy for her.

So I am really thankful to have been a part of her development, and I hope that I had a positive impact on her, and wish her all the best as she moves on up in the world.

And now I have to get back to real work, because Jeepers! She is leaving at a busy time, and little-old-me is going to have to earn her keep for a change!

(PS. Steph would be apalled that I am referencing the M People.  I am way too daggy and 90s for her!)

 

7 comments on “Moving on up

  1. Me
    July 4, 2013

    Isn’t it great when you work with people like Steph – one’s who contribute so much you don’t want them to go, but you know that, for their own good, they need to go.
    Hope you will still be around SM now that you are going to be super busy !!!!
    Have the best day and don’ work too hard.
    Me

  2. Katyberry
    July 4, 2013

    Ha! I am trying SOOO hard not to spend too much time at work on the blog, twitter, and reading other blogs. I’m failing at it, so I think that I am going to have to turn off my internet for big chunks of the working day and totally pull my finger out! Bloody Steph!

  3. That song is in my head now!

    It must feel rewarding to have played such an important role in her development. You did well putting a thankful spin on it! Thanks for linking up ☺

  4. P.S. I love the new look on your blog!

  5. Ha, I had a US reader send me a message yesterday saying she googled ‘daggy’ and it’s really gross.
    I told her that Aussies use it to affectionately say ‘uncool’.
    She was all like ‘from sheep poo to affectionately uncool? What’s with you guys?”!!!

    Funny.

    Go Steph.

    M People were really cool in their day, BTW.

    • Katyberry
      July 5, 2013

      Ha! I saw that comment – poor US girl, she must have thought we Aussies were SOOO gross.

  6. Dwayne
    July 11, 2013

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new updates.

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in Reflections.

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
