The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

What the heck is this Crossfit thingy, anyway?

Yeah yeah, I drank the cool aid: I’m doing another post on Crossfit, but in my defence quite a few of you have asked what the heck it is, and this post also ties in nicely with The Lounge‘s photography theme.

Most of these photos were taken on the day by a guy called Trav, operating as The FITographer.  His whole collection of photos from the day is FAN-diddly-TASTIC.  And I am also totally digging the fact that he has taken two passions and talents – Crossfit and photography – and made a niche career for himself.  People are amazing. But anyway, as amazing as he is, this is not about him, this is about ME.

So, is it possible that you hadn’t heard by now that I did a Crossfit Competition last weekend? Didn’t think so. It was a really great experience, but also pretty emotional for me – I think I’m still processing a lot of it and this is a great place to share.

The Comp.

This is Nat and Michael, the owners of Crossfit 4017. They got some dud advice when they set up the Box (gym) and are now facing a fight with council to keep operating (boo! hiss!) as well as various new fees and fines.

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

The comp was to help raise some funds and the support from other Boxes, Crossfit businesses and local businesses was great. Heaps of people turned up to take part, and despite looking kinda scary when they were in their groups, all the competitors and spectators were actually really lovely and friendly.  Lots of cheering for EVERYONE.

There were two workouts, called WODS (Workout of the Day), that made up the competition. If you do them at the set standard it is called RXD. You have to be damned strong, fit and powerful to do RXD – these guys are CRAZY to watch. If you can’t do RXD then the movements are scaled back: cant do full push-ups – scale back to knee push-ups; can’t lift that weight -scale back to a lesser weight. This Comp had a Beginners category so everything was already scaled way back from RXD for people like me.

The first WOD, and I’m gonna talk Beginners here, was 10m walking lunges with a 5 kg sandbag overhead, followed by 10 burpees. Repeat 5 freaking times. Followed by 8kg Kettle Bell Swings and Deadlifts – 5 each, then 10 each etc up to 25 each. You do as much of this workout as you can in 10 minutes, and if you finish you just go straight back to the start.

This is me doing my walking lunges. All that green space around me makes for a nice piccie but what it really means is that I am miles behind everyone else.

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

There’s a list a mile long of things I am crap at, but it’s fair to day that lunges, with or without bloody sandbags, is one of them. Not for the last time that day I thought I was going to die. Or at the very least, drop that freaking sandbag and NEVER EVER pick it up again. But I didn’t, I got through that shit and made it to the KB swings and Deadlifts, which by comparison were a breeze. Except that by the time I finished the lunges and burpees I had approximately 40 seconds left to pump out a couple before time was up. Morherfucker! I was just hitting my stride!

Some more pictures of awesome people doing their thang (if you look closely you can see me flopping around in the background)!

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

The second WOD was a 400 m run (some may suggest this is sprinting distance, but I would STRONGLY disagree) followed by 21 chest to overhead presses (20kg bar) and 21 push-ups (knees), then 15, then 9 then start again (yeah right).

It’s probably not very nice of me, but I was competing next to a large-ish lady. When I was running my motivation was Holy Freaking Hell, I MUST beat her in the run. I did, and then she smashed me into the ground with her chest to overheads and push-ups. I hope for karma’s sake that I was giving her return motivation of the Gonna Beat That Toothpick Armed Weakest Link variety. That should make my not-nice thoughts kinda even I hope.

20kgs sounds like so little: Look, the bar doesn’t even have any weights on it!  Shut up, I died in the arse.

Kat Crossfit 44017

As for the push-ups, I was supposed to be getting my chest to the ground with each one.  The judge gave me a warning and I fairly growled at her “I think we be scaling this one back Chicky”. I didn’t really say Chicky, but only because I could barely breath as it was.

This is my new friend Lisa.  My push-ups didn’t look like this because they were missing both the Push and the Up components.

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

The last part of this WOD was finding a max Clean and Jerk.  Check out all the peeps with their bars loaded to the hilt.  Impressive, no?

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

This is my bar.  I managed 25kg, and then failed and failed and failed to get 27.5kg above my head.  Stupid bar.  Stupid arms.  Stupid face-pulling that didn’t actually help.

Stupid Face Kat - Crossfit 4017

This girl, whose name I don’t know, was way cool, and even did Olympic style screams when she did her max.  I was impressed (really).  When I can lift like her I am totally getting my chest tattooed as well.  It will say Hell Yeah Motherfuckers!

Credit: The FITographer

Credit: The FITographer

In case you didn’t read my previous post (entitled “What it feels like to come last“) I can let you know the results: I placed 134 of 140 competitors.  Bearing in mind that competitors placed 135 through 140 withdrew without completing for a variety of reasons, technically  I came last.  But what a depressing way to end a post.  Instead let’s put on our yee-ha motivating hats:

motivational_quotes_10

30 comments on “What the heck is this Crossfit thingy, anyway?

  1. Tegan Churchillt
    July 11, 2013

    Awesome work! My son is 20kg and there is no way I could lift him over my head. I can barely lift him fullstop.

    Thanks for linking up with us at The Lounge

  2. Kim
    July 11, 2013

    And, you have to finish to be great too right? I think you’re great. First, you competed, in front of people, and second, you gritted your teeth and finished. That’s the opposite of failing – that’s the try, try again thing, right?

  3. Lisa
    July 12, 2013

    Oh my god! There is no way I would even attempt such a thing-congrats to you for even entering…who cares where you ended up? I feel like I have to eat another block of chocolate now you have stressed me out with all that exercise and face pulling! x

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Mmmmm. Block of Chocolate! I’m no saint – count me in!

  4. Me
    July 12, 2013

    I am still in awe of what you did !!!! You rock no matter what the result !!!
    Have the best weekend !
    Me

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      I love your unerring support! You have become my greatest champion!

  5. Kendra
    July 12, 2013

    just the fact that you did this competition is amazing!!! Many (including myself) wouldn’t have the courage to even sign up- Good job!

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      And it really was fun. The 10 or so minutes of each workout was really full-on, but I loved watching the other heats and cheering on some amazing people. And whilst I was easily the worst of the worst, there were other competitors that were more like me than I expected. And it felt really great to be able to cheer for them, even if I didn’t know who they were.

  6. mummywifeme
    July 12, 2013

    Whoa! Now that is hardcore! Good for you. New site is looking awesome too BTW.

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks! I’m really happy with the changes I made to the blog layout – it’s all coming together quite nicely.

  7. ann
    July 12, 2013

    That made me tired just looking at it!! Good on you for doing it!!

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks Ann! It really was fun – I think it’s the people around you that make it worthwhile

  8. themisscinders
    July 12, 2013

    Dude you should be sooo PROUD! Look what you did!!!

    How freakin awesome are you for putting yourself out there and doing something like this!

    WELL DONE! I think you are brave and courageous and super bloody fabulous!

    I’m in awe of your courage, I wish I could do something like that too!

    MC x
    #thingsiknow

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Cheers! It was fun to do, and fun to write about. Apart from the reward of taking part, I have got over 1000 views on this little post!!! I should write about Crossfit ALL THE TIME!!

  9. Grace
    July 12, 2013

    Wow! You look amazing!! And you lifted 25 kgs more than what others can do! Be proud!

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks Grace. And thanks for hosting an amazing linkup!

  10. Cathy Harper
    July 12, 2013

    Great post and huge congratulations. I’ve watched my son do crossfit competions and they look extremely hard. Love your determination and writing!!

    • Katyberry
      July 12, 2013

      Thanks Cathy! It was hard work on the day, and in spite of my bravado, it was hard coming dead last. But the writing of this post was easy. I just wanted to share the joy of the occasion!

  11. Neets
    July 12, 2013

    Wow that is super cool. Good for you! Thought you said on my post that you’d tried Crossfit. Didn’t realise you competed. Misread it. You go girlfriend! 🙂 love your work

  12. Morag
    July 13, 2013

    Oops that was me….the judge that was nagging about ur push ups!!! I feel guilty now….u did great though-everyone who participated did awesome! I’m in complete awe of all competitors-I prob would have died!!!

    • Katyberry
      July 13, 2013

      Ha! Doing your job, is all!

      Truly, I just couldn’t do the push-ups AT ALL! It was really frustrating! I’m so glad that I competed, though. It WAS fun!

  13. alex
    July 13, 2013

    You didn’t finish last… you finished!
    You should feel massively proud of that!

    • robomum
      July 15, 2013

      Too true! Seconding this! Well done X

  14. Amanda Friday
    July 13, 2013

    Hi Kat, You were awesome on the day – where you placed is irrelevant. So, are you up for another comp? Battle of the Barbell?

  15. Laney | Crash Test Mummy
    July 14, 2013

    Go you! I know how tough it is, my brother is a personal trainer and makes me do those walking lunges with an aqua bag. Can anyone say, “WOBBLY”?!?!?!?

  16. Pip (bub sweat and tears)
    August 13, 2013

    Holy freaking hell I’m blown away by the efforts everyone is making and to turn it into a race – hell even just finishing the circuit looks like it would destroy – let alone do it FAST! See I knew Crossfit was some tough hard core thing – it scares me and yet I find it oddly attractive – that blond girl with the tatts looks sensational – so STRONG 😉 v. impressed by your efforts – who cares what place you bloody finished

  17. Eleise
    August 16, 2013

    That is serious stuff! How awesome are you!! Crossfit looks like so much fun! What a gorgeous day you had for it too!

  18. naomi
    December 23, 2013

    Thank you for being so awesome and such an inspiration!!! I have been thinking about trying crossfit for almost a year now… maybe someday I will have as big of balls as you do to actually go through with it. And if I do, it will have a lot to do with you and your posts!

    • Katyberry
      December 23, 2013

      Oh thank you sooooo much! I hope you do give it a go – it is so scary when you’re on the outside looking in, but once you start it is just brilliant!
      Your comment was such good timing for me – I have been thinking about writing a post wrapping up my year, and the theme has really been about doing the things that make me scared: Crossfit, competitions, writing, and promoting myself to strangers and (even harder) to people I know. And yet, this evening I have been feeling really down on myself: you know the usual – I say/do the wrong things, people don’t like me, bla bla bla! And along came you, and turned my night around.
      Thank you so much and Merry Christmas xx

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2013 by in Work/Life Balance and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
