The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

All Exciting All The Time

Is there anything more boring than a blog post starting out with, I know it’s been ages since I last blogged……

So whatever!  No apologies.

It’s all exciting all the time at my end of the world at the moment.  Looks like we are buying a new house – contract was signed last week, and providing no unexpected bumps, in just under 45 days we will be the proud new owners of a gorgeous little cottage one street back from the waterfront.

Sure, it’s teeny weeny, and simple and old and completely crazy.  But it’s also perfect.  I have the Dandy Warhol’s song “Bohemian Like Me” humming through my head whenever I think about it.  There’s no storage whatsoever, not even any kitchen shelves, so I think that the first couple of months we will be living surrounded by boxes, but it’s cool.  I have 3 growing daughters and they will be sharing a room, but they do now anyway, so it’s cool.  We have to sell our current house so that we aren’t stuck permanently with two mortgages, but you know: it’s cool.

There is a front veranda, and a park just across the way.  I will be kicking back on my funky yellow Casala chairs with vino in hand watching the kids play.  Or not watching.  Whatever.

I can walk the paddle board down the avenue to the waterfront and go for a paddle whenever the feeling takes me.

A group of our best buddies live one street over, so it is going to be a constant party-time.

The girls can walk to school safely.

There is hardly any yard to look after.

We have Grand Designs plans that there is no rush to get to, but that will keep us in this house FOREVER!

Sigh.  Don’t you love this bit.  When it’s all great, because it’s all in your head, and life will just be PERFECT all because we are in a new house.  I’m no fool.  The hard work has already started, but these, my friends, are exciting times.

 

Linking up with The Lounge because I have missed you guys!

12 comments on “All Exciting All The Time

  1. Me
    August 8, 2013

    Moving house is always an exciting (and exhausting) time but if you can see how you want it to turn out in the end, there is a lot of fun (most of the time) in getting there !
    I love how close you are to the water and the park and that the girls can walk safely to school – YAY !!!
    Have the best day and thanks for popping in to let us know what you have been up to.
    Me

  2. Lydia C. lee
    August 8, 2013

    I love your last paragraph – good head space!

  3. minsmash
    August 8, 2013

    Congratulations! A new house is so exciting and it sounds like yours is in just the right spot for you and your family. I love ‘grand designs’ – you’ll have to share those! Love a cosy little cottage and I’m partial to bohemian. Keep the zen feel going, the packing and moving is the hard part but after that … all fun! xo

  4. The Tunnel
    August 8, 2013

    Well done. And may you never have to move again (unless you want to, of course!)

  5. Have a laugh on me
    August 8, 2013

    There are lots of way to get extra storage! Sounds like a good move, especially with the nice neighbourhood, I think that is a bit factor in deciding where to move to! Kinda jealous as I’d LOVE to move but the Husband says we can’t afford it – PARTY POOPER!

  6. Tegan Churchill
    August 8, 2013

    It sounds like an awesome time at the opinionated manager household right now!

  7. Sarah @ SLapdash Mama
    August 8, 2013

    SO EXCITING OMG I AM SO JEALOUS I CAN HARDLY BREATH! SO JEALOUSSSSSSSS.
    I mean..congratulations!
    Ahem.

  8. Leanne Winter
    August 9, 2013

    Sounds awesome. There’s nothing so much fun as finding and securing a new home. Congratulations – enjoy it! (I’m a bit jealous, too)

  9. Lara @ This Charming Mum
    August 9, 2013

    Congratulations! I’m a big fan of houses ‘with character’ – even if they do often turn into life long renovation projects. Ours is very much like that too! A perpetual work in progress and far, far away from ‘latte chic’ trendiness. I love it that way. Enjoy your vino!

  10. Rachel
    August 10, 2013

    Wow that’s awesome! The whole house buying and selling palaver can be such a stressful time but it seems like you’ve managed to avoid all that. Congrats x

  11. Kim
    August 11, 2013

    Congrats, and welcome back! How exciting for you guys. I can almost feel the positivity seeping out of the page. Enjoy the buzz! x

  12. Robyn (Mrs D)
    August 13, 2013

    The best part of all is that it’s ALL YOURS!! Moves can be pretty stressful but they are also super exciting!! Good luck xx

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2013 by in Work/Life Balance and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
