The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

I am passionate about….Teamwork?

Teamwork

Passions huh?  Some big topics at the Lounge these days….

I don’t know that I would say that I am passionate about teamwork and team players, but I sure do like them a lot.  The people that jump on in and help out with whatever is going on, that look around and see people who are struggling and take a bit of that load for themselves, people that don’t need to be ASKED and don’t ask to be excused.  Those are the people that I want to be surrounded by at work.

With some key people missing from my team at the moment, I am starting to feel just a small hint, a whiff in the air, of a lack of team-manship.  I can see that as the team re-builds with new staff that maintaining our strong culture of support and teamwork is going to need a concentrated effort from me.  I have been cruising along…. but now I take a look around me I can see that little by little things are starting to drift off-course.

I guess I have to figure out where we are headed and how I am going to get us there.  Team dynamics are always shifting, new people bring new strengths and weaknesses and new relationships.  And I have to figure out how to be their manager and create a culture that works for all of us.  Hmmm.  Writing this post is clarifying a few things for me (and brought up new issues and questions too).  Teamwork is something that I am passionate about.  Time to get focussed….

8 comments on “I am passionate about….Teamwork?

  1. robomum
    August 15, 2013

    I’ve been on two ‘teams’ at work this term. The worst.
    I usually thrive in teams but I’ve had a couple of bad experiences lately.
    You’re either cut out for it, or Not, with a capital N.

  2. Ness
    August 16, 2013

    I was never much of ‘teamer’. I always preferred just getting on with doing my work without getting involved in all the office politics. I couldn’t imagine being a manager and having to manage teams. I guess I’m not a big ‘people’ person. I’m an extreme introvert. Sigh.

  3. sarahmccallan
    August 18, 2013

    Oh I love teamwork! Well mostly…unless the team is made up of psychos…but I much prefer working with other people, it is much my preference!

  4. Sarah @ Slapdash Mama
    August 18, 2013

    Ooh I did a comment and I think it disappeared.
    Anyway it was along the lines of I luff working in teams…well, mostly, unless tr other members are psychos. Naturally that can be a bit challenging!!!

  5. Janet Camilleri
    August 23, 2013

    I was a dream “teamworker” if I do say so myself! But, it didn’t save me from redundancy when the time came :-(. I can’t help feeling a little bitter that *I* went, when other non team working, lazy, useless, you-know-what’s kept their jobs!

    • Katyberry
      August 26, 2013

      I’d be more than a bit bitter too, but at least you’ve had the last laugh with happiness and success on your new path.

  6. mummywifeme
    August 25, 2013

    I quite like working as a team as well as autonomously. I’m soon to meet my new team when I head back to work in two week’s time. Yikes!

    • Katyberry
      August 26, 2013

      That is so daunting – going back to work after a long break. I always worried that my replacement would be preferred to me! That or they would have uncovered the “truth” that I am a shambles!
      I wish you every success at re-entry – be kind to yourself

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2013 by in Leadership & Management and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
