The Opinionated Manager

learning to trust my own opinions and expertise

Crossfit for the Unfit

Y’all know that Crossfit is one of my favourite things, and today I had an article published on a  PROPER Crossfit website: Tabata Times.  So be a true pal, and go and check it out so that they think I am a totally popular Crossfit columnist who knows what she is talking about.  Or something.

Get to it:   Crossfit for the Unfit

UPDATE: I’ve already had lots of lovely feedback by the way of comments, likes, shares & re-tweets, but I’ve also received my first bit of truly negative feedback as well.  Wow does it STING!  And all that self-doubt that I push down inside myself in order to write and promote my writing has come bubbling back to the surface, along with the sense that I have embarrassed myself in front of a bunch of strangers as well as people that I truly care about.  I’m trying hard to learn from that criticism (it’s certainly not invalid) without letting it take over all my sense of believe in what I write, which is in many ways validated by the people who have reached out to me to tell me that it does have meaning.  Phew, this writing business is HARD.

7 comments on “Crossfit for the Unfit

  1. The Tunnel
    November 7, 2013

    You have become Ms Crossfit, haven’t you? Is it true that you can increase blog traffic by 4000% by putting the words “crossfit” in a post?

    The only crossfit at my place at the moment is coming from my little girl with the broken collarbone!

  2. Tegan Churchill
    November 7, 2013

    Woo awesome work!

  3. Val
    November 8, 2013

    Thanks for sharing! I recognized a lot of myself as yet another addicted unfit crossfitter!

  4. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me
    November 8, 2013

    You know you’ve made it as a writer when you piss someone off or they complain about you! Well done 🙂 And for the crossfit, what a legend 🙂

  5. remember how many positive comments your had over the last however long for that one negative one. There is always one. I really still don’t know what crossfit is so heading over for a look.

  6. Kate Thompson
    November 9, 2013

    Congrats on your article. You know what they say, ‘a problem shared is a problem halved’. It is nice to be in a blogging community where everyone can relate to what you’re going through with the highs and lows isn’t it? I can totally relate to what you’re saying but keep pushing on and don’t let that self doubt stop you!

  7. Mystery Case
    November 10, 2013

    I wouldn’t worry about the negative. There are always negative people out there. Heading over to have a look now.

I love hearing your opinions and experiences, so please comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2013 by in Work/Life Balance and tagged , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

iVillage
Blogs and PR
